Black Swan

Black Swan

Genre: Drama, Mystery, Thriller

Director: Darren Aronofsky

Writers: Mark Heyman (screenplay) Andres Heinz (Story and screenplay) and
John J. McLaughlin (screenplay)

Stars: Nathalie Portman, Mila Kunis, Vincent Cassel and Winona Ryder

Lenght: 108 min

 

Today I watched Black Swan. I didn't know what to expect of it as I barely knew what it was about. I've just heard from my sister that it is a really good movie and a friend wanted me to review it, so I watched it and here comes my review.

 

Plot:

The movie revolves around a production of the Swan Lake by a prestigious New York City ballet company.
Nina (Nathalie Portman) is a ballerina from the company whose life, like all those in her profession, is completely consumed with dance. She lives with her mother who is an obsessive former ballerina who basically controls every movement her daughter does.
When the artistic director, Thomas Leroy (Vincent Cassel), decides to replace the prima ballerina, Beth MacIntyre (Winona Ryder), Nina is his first choice. But Nina has competition: a new dancer, Lily (Mila Kunis), who impresses Leroy as well.
Swan Lake requires a dancer who can play both the White Swan with innocence and grace, and the Black Swan, who represents sensuality. Nina fits the White Swan role perfectly but Lily is perfect for the role of the Black Swan. As the two young dancers expand their rivalry into a twisted friendship, Nina begins to get more in touch with her dark side - a recklessness that threatens to destroy her.

 

What did I think of the movie:

This movie was really hard to review, cause honestly, I have no idea if I liked the movie or not...
I’m not a big fan of movies where half of what you see on the screen is in the character’s mind and then it quickly jumps to the reality and you see something else. It just creates confusion in my head.
But it is a good story and the actors were really good. The music was really beautiful and awesome, and if you like psychological and mysterious movies, this movie is probably something for you.
Nathalie Portman owns the screen in this film. Her role as the lead ballerina illustrates every inch of stressful depth these ballerinas probably go through to earn a lead role for a big production.
I probably have to watch the movie one or two more times to fully understand it.
But as said, I can recommend this movie if you like psychological and mysterious movies.

 

Peace out!

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0